Sunday, October 27, 5:30-7:00 pm 

Frisco 6, 1st Floor Convention Center


Tim Sutton

2019 CSOTTE Chair


TDFE Picture.png


Clinical Teacher of  the Year Awards

These awards recognize clinical teachers who have demonstrated, during their clinical teaching experience, an outstanding ability to plan and develop a repertoire of classroom management skills and instructional strategies that support the needs and curriculum of all students; establish effective interpersonal relationships with students, parents, faculty, and staff; and reflect upon the teaching and learning process.

2019 Recipients:

Kaylea Long, Texas A&M University-Commerce

Rikki Bodin, Lamar University

Lauren Hornbeak, Baylor University

TACA 2.png


Interns of the Year

It is a tradition of the Texas Alternative Certification Association to showcase the talent of alternatively prepared educators by selecting and honoring three outstanding individuals to receive Intern of the Year awards. The awards—a plaque and check, are presented at CSOTTE’s annual Fall Teacher Education Conference. Recipients may also submit nomination packets to the National Association for Alternative Certification’s intern scholarship program.

2019 Recipients:

Crystal Lucatero, Teaching Excellence, YES Prep

Maria Camila Escobar Fuller, Harris County Department of Education

Jill Fox, Region 11 Education Service Center

Screen Shot 2019-10-06 at 11.02.40


Classroom Setup Grants

The Texas Association of Certification Officers awarded classroom setup grants of $250 to six first-year teachers certified through Texas EPPs. 

2019 Recipients:

Debbie Williams, LeTourneau University

Courtney Kahn, University of the Incarnate Word

Genesis Segura, Texas A&M University-San Antonio

Lyniece Catalan, University of Houston-Downtown

Angel Castillo, Texas A&M University-Kingsville

TxATE logo.jpg


Ted Booker Memorial Award

In 1971, Ted Booker, TSCTE President in 1969-1970 and Dean of the College of Education at Texas Woman's University, suggested that TSCTE (predecessor of TxATE) use surplus funds to establish an award for an outstanding contribution in the field of teacher education.  Because of his leadership in this area, and his untimely death in 1971, the Ted Booker Memorial Award was established in April 1972 at the TSCTE Spring Conference.

The 2019 recipient will be announced at awards dinner.

TxATE logo.jpg


Ben E. Coody Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Coody served as the last President of the Texas Association for Student Teaching before the association became the Texas Association of Teacher Educators in 1971.  Shortly after completing his term as president, Dr. Coody met an untimely death in an automobile accident.  He was respected for his high code of ethics, his professional zeal, and his sincerity of purpose.

The 2019 recipient will be announced at awards dinner.

Screen Shot 2019-10-06 at 11.12.33

Quest for Quality

Exemplary Faculty Practices, presented by TxATE

The exemplary K-12 partnerships award highlights what is done well at Texas universities, such as induction programs, or continuing professional development practices. Universities are invited to nominate K-12 Partnership initiatives designed both to prepare teacher candidates to excel and to improve K-12 Schools.

The 2019 recipient will be announced at awards dinner.

Screen Shot 2019-10-06 at 11.12.33

Quest for Quality

Exemplary Faculty Practices, presented by TACTE

The nomination of exemplary faculty practices in teacher preparation is an opportunity to highlight quality in faculty innovation and creativity. This initiative is designed to highlight what is done well by identifying exemplary teacher preparation practices in schools of education and arts and sciences in Texas universities. Faculty are invited to submit artifacts with commentary to illustrate exemplary faculty practices they have designed that prepare teachers to excel.

The 2019 recipient will be announced at awards dinner.

CSOTTE logo- circle v2.jpeg


Friend of Education Award

CSOTTE presents the Friend of Teacher Education Award to recognize and reward individuals not officially connected with teacher preparation organizations and institutions, but who have made significant contributions toward improving the preparation of teachers in Texas.  The recipient will be an individual who has been supportive and positive toward the mission of the organizations of CSOTTE. The first Friend of Teacher Education award was presented at the 2006 Fall CSOTTE Conference on Teacher Education.

The 2019 recipient is Dr. Nichole Prescott, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, P16 Initiatives, University of Texas System.

©2020 by CSOTTE Conference 2020. Proudly created with